Top 10 things I have learned about the future

In the last blog, I listed the top 10 things I have learned from teaching Bible at the high school level for 20 years. But this was my last year.  I have felt the Father nudge me out of the nest and into a new quest.   This week I am beginning to feel so many of the unknowns ahead.  I have some tough decisions to make.  And I have so many unanswered questions. With the future looming like this, here are the top 10 things I have learned about it over the years.  It’s a good reminder for me right now!

10.  Fear is a constant stalker when looking ahead.  It’s a good short term motivator.  A terrible long term one.

9.  Never say “Never.”  Many years ago, I said I would never teach at a Christian high school.

8.  God has a plan for your plan.

7.  The quest God will put us on in the future is so often connected to the story of our lives from the past.

6.  Chasing after fame and fortune is a constant pull and a constant deception.

5.  Ambition to do the Father’s will is the one and only thing to be zealous for.

4.  If you want to make God laugh, announce to him the plans for your life.

3.  Your part in God’s story is not only the best role you could play, but the best one for you personally.

2.  Really trusting God with your future feels like rappelling.  You have to step off the cliff and have confidence that the rope will hold.

And the number one thing I have learned…

1.  I don’t know much about the future…but if I walk with God each day, that’s all I need.

We will officially enter the summer season with the next blog.  See you then!

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Future, Walking with God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top 10 things I have learned about the future

  1. Trey says:

    Regarding number 7, that is so true. God uses our lives to prepare us for the next mission. I could never have been a therapist if I had not been abused. God worked that for good for me and His children. Same thing with the flood, God works good because He is so good and loving. But I would even say He is always using our life to prepare us for what we need to do next. Great points!

    Trey

    • Coach D says:

      Trey,
      You are so right. Nothing is wasted. Everything is our story is a part of the next chapter in God’s story for us, especially the shameful and sad parts. It is something I am continually learning about myself. Thanks for the encouragement.

  2. Trey says:

    “Nothing is wasted.” Wow. True dat! And very helpful. I tend to think of my wilderness years as wasted, but God has redeemed them to prepratory. That helps!

    Trey

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Things I Have Learned About The Future | Ashraya Mission

Leave a comment