What is the one thing you have to do with your life?

The question is jarring. Yet it leads to other more uncomfortable questions. Is there just one thing? How do I find it? What do I do once I find it? What will it cost me to do it? What will happen if I don’t?

I have come to believe that inside each of us is a task, something we must do that flows out of who we really one. To find out our identity and then our special task in life is the one precious thing that puts the pieces of our lives together. It is the desire woven into all our other longings.

I read this quote this afternoon from Iron John: “Suffering here means the difficult tasks accepted for the sake of your desire, but also the painful awareness of other roads not taken.”

It made me think about the desire written in my heart to help men, both as fathers and as sons. It made me consider the suffering involved in doing the task as well as letting go of other paths. But more importantly, I am realizing the depth of the desire in me.

For the one desire is not something you could do with your life. It is the one thing you cannot live without doing. And here is the really intriguing thing. When you open the pages of the Bible, you find God calling out men and women to that one precious thing, that one task. It becomes their passion, their quest.

So how do you find it? I don’t have a formula. But I do know this. You follow Jesus and get close to him. In time, he will show you who you really are and what you are to do.

One final note. This is not just a good idea. It’s the one idea that makes everything else in our lives good.

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Landmarks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What is the one thing you have to do with your life?

  1. Trey says:

    A great and thoughtful post. I found out what I was made to do by living through some abuse and a bad marriage followed by a horrible custody fight. God redeemed those experiences and used them in preparation for my vocation. The knowledge came through fear and pain, but led to a wonderful, exciting job that satisfies me. Rough road to get here though. 8)

    Trey

    • Coach D says:

      Trey,
      Thanks as always for your thoughtful comments back. I often think that the road we all have to travel is rough and that we perceive everyone else’s road as easy. Often the one great thing we need to do in our lives is written in the transcript of pain in our lives. That becomes our passion, our true calling. I am very much like you in this!

  2. Trey says:

    “Often the one great thing we need to do in our lives is written in the transcript of pain in our lives.”

    Publish that one brother. True dat!

    Trey

Leave a Reply

