The one reason to do everything

Why are you doing what you are doing? This week? Today? Right now? It almost seems like a silly question. But underneath the apparent silliness is an ocean of chaos, darkness, and questions we would often rather not face. Here are some common reasons why we do what we do…

  1. We live out of obligation, duties that are imposed on us, or ones that we impose on ourselves. We don’t feel free but almost robotic.
  2. We live out of pressure, pressure to perform and to live up to some standard in our families, our schools, our workplaces, or our churches.
  3. We live out of guilt, trying to make things better, or appeasing those we have offended, or just trying to run away from it.
  4. We live out of shame, covering what we don’t want to have exposed or dreading the exposure that may come.
  5. We live out of fear, avoiding whatever we are scared of, not considering what would happen if we faced it.

Of course, there are other motives, but this is a good list to get us thinking. For underneath the surface of our daily behavior lies an ugly tangle of motives and drives. All of this not only blocks us from true happiness in life, it blocks out real intimacy with God.

A number of years ago, I had go below the surface and examine the ugly tangle in my own heart. It was not something I easily chose…but something I had to do to get out of the black hole I was in. And after pulling the tangle up and straightening it all out, here is what I discovered. It’s the one motive that frees me to be the man I long to be, the one reason to do everything. It’s one simple word:

Delight.

To feel the Father’s delight in me through Jesus, to really feel that, is now Job #1 for me every morning. And then to live the rest of the day so that I can stay in that delight is Job #2. It is to do everything because I love my Father and I love staying in his delight of me as his son.

And now I realize something else. This was also the secret of Jesus’ extraordinary life. But there’s even more. He wants us to come and experience that. Incredible.

That’s the invitation of Christianity. That’s the invitation to all of us. Right now.

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Heart, Walking with God and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

