Not all adventures end well…including this one

On top of Mt. Roosevelt

I like to think that I love adventures, and often I do. But true adventures are full of unknowns, including things we don’t like or can’t control. Just such an adventure happened to Heidi and I today.

We spent a wonderful weekend visiting our daughter in Knoxville and decided on the drive back to Nashville to take a hike somewhere. We looked up hikes along I-40 and ran across something we had never heard about, Mt. Roosevelt State Forest. The mountain for which it is named has an incredible view at the top and a side trail to explore. We were hooked. That’s where we are going to go.

The Smoky Mountains in the distance

So off the interstate we went on some back roads and then up a narrow paved road up to the top Mt. Roosevelt. The vista that opened out to us was stunning. We could see all the way across the Tennessee River basin to the Smoky Mountains. I had no idea such a view existed from the Cumberland Plateau. The first part of this adventure was going really well.

So then we decided to try to find the side trail. The whole top of the mountain seemed to be fenced in except for a gate that led out onto a small gravel road. It seemed to be the only place for a side trail to start. So off Heidi and I went. Not 20 yards around a bend, we noticed what looked like a house, and then before I could react, a snarling dog came hurtling towards us. I instinctively stood my ground and tried to look big and mean. Standing in front of Heidi, I snatched up some rocks to throw at the dog if needed. Heidi then turned to run back up the road. After a brief stand off, the dog pulled back, and I quickly retreated.

OK…that could have turned out much worse than it did. Heidi and I looked at each other and decided  the same thing. No more trails. This adventure was over. We were disappointed, but safe.

It reminded me that walking with God is also an adventure, unknown and sometimes unsafe. And yet always worth it. Heidi and I are still glad we went up Mt. Roosevelt.

If you have never been up this mountain, it is worth seeing.

Just forget about the trail.

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Landmarks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

