The start of a unknown and dangerous mission

After months of dreaming, planning, and praying, Heidi and I and a board of dear friends are starting out on an unknown and dangerous mission. The non-profit that we have thought about for so long is now a reality. It’s exciting, relieving, and scary all at the same time.

First, I want to announce the name of the non-profit. After suggestions from many of you, we landed on this one: Landmark Journey Ministries. The name reflects the title of the book to be released in March (Landmarks) and my passion to help others get unstuck and move out on their heart journeys.

Second, I need to explain the core vision of Landmark Journey. It is premised around the universal need of all men and women to take a journey to find their true selves in Christ. The idea of the journey is a theme not only found in all literary and screenplay plots, but it’s also how we must think about our walk with God.

But there is more. Landmark Journey will also focus on the desperate need of men today, especially fathers and sons, to connect to each other and then to the Father as a part of that journey. A wise female counselor put it like this: “When the healing of men starts, the healing of the rest of the world can begin.” This healing is what I long to be a part of. And like all true adventures, it is not the one I would have chosen for myself. But it just seems that my path has landed me here.

So what specifically will Landmark Journey Ministries be doing in the months ahead? Here are some of the things on the drawing board:

  • lead 2 weekend retreats for men
  • hold 5-6 intergenerational gatherings of different sizes
  • begin a father/son Institute
  • lead 6-7 small groups of men
  • pursue speaking engagements in the area and in nationally known ministries to get the message of the book out

Finally, a number of you have already asked to be signed up for the monthly prayer encouragement. If you want to be added to the list or want to know how to help us financially, please reply at bill.delvaux@cpalions.org

Any venture to expand Christ’s kingdom will always be opposed, and we know this non-profit is no exception. It may feel like Mission: Impossible at times, but I know that the reality can be Mission: Accomplished.


About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Landmarks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

