The end of an era

It finally happened. The dreaded deed was accomplished. It took me a long to time to decide about it, but it was finished last weekend. What am I talking about? Look at the pictures. They will tell the story.

The trampoline, old and rusted

Springs removed

Only frame is left now

Frame dismantled

Lining removed

Frame removed

The trampoline is ready to be hauled to the dump

Rachel and I put the trampoline together in the summer before her 6th grade school year. As I was dismantling it, memories of doing that with her kept running through my mind. I got so sad that I actually had to stop after the fifth picture above and return the next day. It was just too painful. To finally let it go was to allow all of those wonderful moments to surface and grieve over their loss. I just loved being a father to Rachel and Abigail.

But Heidi and I are now entering another era of our lives as both of them are out of the house. Allowing myself to grieve has opened my heart again to new adventures with my children now that they are grown. I can still be a father, just in different ways. And I experienced again the goodness of grief. It’s a gift from the Father to keep our hearts alive!

This is the journey our hearts must go on. And it can happen anytime, anywhere. Even taking down a trampoline.

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Father, Grief, Landmarks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The end of an era

  1. kevin hagan says:

    Wow Bill, this is almost heartbreaking to think about as I look ahead with Walker and Spencer. Just 4 more years and they are both off to college. I don’t look forward to those days but I know they are coming.

    • Coach D says:

      Kevin,
      Those days are coming and so quickly. It is so hard in the busyness of having high school children to realize that it is all ending soon. But I am learning to love my new life with my daughters.

  2. Bill Godwin says:

    I can “feel” you on this one! This one hits close.

    Bill Godwin, DBIA, LEED AP
    BACAR Constructors, Inc.
    912 8th Avenue South
    Nashville, TN 37203
    Email: bgodwin@bacar.com
    Phone: (615) 259-1516
    Fax: (615) 259-9111
    Direct: (615) 695-0026

  3. Ed Freeman says:

    Bill:
    I can certainly relate; this is our last year before our youngest leaves the nest. I am dealing with transition stress: my children are almost gone, my father is declining, my country is not the same, and my church is changing. I need the immutable God. you have a gift of being able to articulate what we are living.
    ed

    • Coach D says:

      Ed,
      Thanks for the comment. If I can help you by putting words to these things, then that is all the reason I need to keep blogging. Life in this world is hard, painful, and always changing. Coming to grips with this and keeping our hearts alive in the process is so much of what being in Christ is all about!

  4. Trey says:

    I can relate too, as I am just a little behind you! I had to fight so hard to keep Mary, it is difficult to think of her leaving because it is time for her to fly from the nest! Some tasks are so emotionally difficult it is ridiculous! After the flood I was almost paralyzed and could not accomplish the smallest task without great effort. With God’s help, I will deal with the transition from a live in father to a consulting father of my eldest with more ease than the flood! But I hear you all in your loss.

    Trey

    • Coach D says:

      Trey,
      God will always give us the grace as we trust him, but sometimes it will come in unlooked for places. And you don’t have to have that grace now. You still have Mary for another year!

Leave a Reply

