The vision that changed everything

Some time ago, I had an image presented to me. As I look back on it now, I realize it was a vision given about what I needed to be doing with my life. Although I cannot be completely sure of the surrounding details, I think it happened as I sat on my back porch in a time of quiet before the Father. Here is what I saw:

I found myself treading water in a vast ocean. The sky was gray and dimly lit. Exhausted and straining, I was barely able to keep my head above water. To make the situation direr, this was no ordinary ocean water I was immersed in. It was a mucky slime that made the motions of treading even more strenuous.  I wondered how long I would be able to keep going.

 All of sudden, my foot hit something solid. As I moved closer to inspect, I realized it was something large, big enough to put both of my feet on. I had found some kind rocky base in this ocean of muck. I rested my aching muscles for awhile with my face still just above the surface.  But as wonderful as my discovery had been, there was more.  As I walked further on, the rock seemed to stretch out far underground and then rose up in elevation. I began to climb slowly up until my upper torso was out of the slime. I then started to wipe the muck off of my arms and face as best I could.

 It was then I awoke to my surroundings. I looked out and saw an ominous sight. Out in the vast ocean were hundreds and thousands of others as far as my eyes could see. They were all like I had been, treading in the muck, barely surviving, straining to keep from drowning. The darkness was heavy and the air tense as I scanned the appalling scene.

 And then I remember thinking, “This is terrible. Somebody has to do something.” And then I realized. That somebody was me.

 I believe this image is a picture of the call that God has placed on my life. I have to find a way to help others with the help I have found, especially men, both as fathers and as sons. This is my quest.

In the next blog, I will tell you how the quest is actually happening! This will come out on Thursday as I now return to posting two blogs per week.

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Landmarks, Walking with God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

