What’s your finish line today?

When I coached cross country, I would sometimes ask my runners, “What would it be like if I told you to start running and didn’t give you a finish line?” The response was always predictable and unanimous: “Coach, that would be terrible.” “I would just quit.” “Coach, I wouldn’t even start.”

What seems so obvious in running, however, becomes smeared in daily life. So many live each day with no finish line. The results here are predictable: depression, confusion, lack of passion, inability to move through hard places, lack of direction. This is so much a part of the human condition that we take it for granted. But what if we were given a finish line?

One of the the last things the Father gave me in Colorado was a theme verse for this new part of my life. I was drinking coffee at the McDonald’s in Estes Park, journaling before I was to leave for home the next day, when a Scripture passage leapt off the page. It was as if a laser beam had found a target in the recesses of my heart. The verse was a finish line: “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal” (II Corinthians 4:18). What pierced me was the idea of fixing our eyes. It’s the gaze of a runner who knows where he is going and keeps pushing towards it.

I wrote this next in my journal: “I am to fix my eyes on the unseen. That goes against everything in our culture, and yet I know it is true. The fixing of my eyes on the unseen is I think the Father’s final word for me. It is his last wisdom for me in the mountains. To get above the swirl and flux of daily existence and simply see in the rarified atmosphere above what is coming and aim straight towards it.”

Here is the hope that can break the spell of idols. Here is the power that can pull us out of dark ruts. Here is the passion that can propel us on any quest God asks of us. Our life in Christ is not fully here, but it is coming. What would change if this were your finish line?

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Heaven, The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s your finish line today?

  1. Ed Freeman says:

    as the good Mormon, steven Covey says: “begin with the end in mind”
    ed

  2. Trey says:

    Lately I think of leaving my children a legacy of loving the Lord. Of growing up in a family where we talk about Jesus and what He asks of us. Where the Lord is a central organizing factor of our culture. Becky and I are working on that being the case more than it was in our families growing up, and we expect the lord to bless our children so that their homes are more Christ centered than ours. I guess that is more of a process answer than a finish line answer, but God knows my finish line while I do not. So I just try to trust my heavenly coach and keep plugging!

    Trey

    • Coach D says:

      Keep at it, Trey. I love the idea of leaving a legacy like that with your family. It is one that will repay multiple dividends back to you! Keep plugging. Remember…this is a long distance race!

Leave a Reply

