What is your fear factor?

For me this last week, it wasn’t the fear factor. It was the terror factor. No kidding. Here’s what happened.

Several months ago, my good friend, Carter Crenshaw asked my about the idea of dirt biking with his sons in Colorado. He was a bit unsure about doing it, even though his sons were excited about the idea. Having no intention of ever doing it myself, I encouraged him to take the gamble to do something risky with his sons. But in God’s odd providence, I found myself in CO spending two days with the Crenshaw’s, one of which would be devoted to dirt biking. And I couldn’t back out now. I’m the one who had advised him.

The night before the ride, I struggled with sleep. My fear rose in swells to terror. I hadn’t ridden a motorcycle in years. Could I even do it? What would the dirt roads be like? Would I seriously injure myself? Or would I just look like a fool? This is so often how the Father trains me. He backs me into a situation where I have to face my fears, and then he walks me through them. I knew exactly what this was about. I had to listen to him and not the voice of fear.

When the bikes arrived, they came complete with body armor. I’m not sure whether they helped my fears or made them worse. But we all looked pretty tough in them! The morning was spent riding on fairly level roads, getting used to shifting and balancing the bikes. No accidents! We came back, ate lunch, and headed out for deeper adventures that afternoon.

And we found them on two deeply rutted, treacherous roads, one of which was too narrow for 4 wheel drive vehicle. I was tentative as I eyed them, but fearlessly Carter led us on. As we climbed up and through the mud and bumps and made our way back, we were exhilarated over the conquest.

On the final drive back, I felt confident enough to put it in 5th gear and let the bike go. That night we all celebrated with pizza and a game of pool. The Father had coached me through another fear factor, and I felt alive and called out as a man. It was more training for all that lies ahead of me.

So what is your fear factor? What fears do you need God to release you from? Ask him and them watch out!

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Fear, Walking with God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is your fear factor?

  1. Ed Freeman says:

    Mountain climbing, skydiving, hiking in sub zero weather, long distant cycling and now dirt biking. All you need now is two beautiful women hanging on you and you are ready for a Dos Equis Beer commercial… “stay thirsty my friends “

    • Coach D says:

      Ed,
      I’ll keep taking the risks, but no need for the two women. Heidi always pushes me forward in good directions! Do you want to come take some risks with me??

Leave a Reply

