I need your help once more…The Name Game!

It hit like a lightning stroke, unexpected and shocking. But it was a beautiful shock. If you read my last blog, I mentioned it as one of the things I was celebrating. What was it? The start of a non-profit.

I have been toying with this idea for awhile, talking to others and weighing the pros/cons. It seems that the quest God has put me on has no ready-made structure that fits it. And so it has pushed me to consider creating my own structure. But there was always a cost. Striking out on my own like this sometimes created waves of fear that would roll over me. And so then I pulled back. This push-pull had been going on for awhile until I gathered a group of treasured friends as my starting board.

I told them that I felt I needed to pull back at the moment and wait. They all objected and informed me that I needed to start the non-profit…and start it now! That was the lightning stroke that changed everything. I left the meeting convinced that this was the path the Lord has given me.

What will the non-profit do? Three basic vision goals:

  1. To help men and women of all ages take the journey to become their true selves in Christ, using the path marked out in the Landmarks book
  2. To reconnect men to their own hearts so that they may feel the love of the Father through Jesus Christ
  3. To reconnect men to each other, especially the hearts of fathers and sons

But even though the vision is clear, one critical thing is not…the name of the non-profit. Here is how all of you can help:

Think of 5 individual words that describe the teaching and/or work that you have seen from me. Then post a comment back with those five words. That’s all! I will look for common themes and repeated words. I’m hoping a name will pop out from this.

So…take a minute right now and play The Name Game. I will post the official name by August 15. Who knows? Your word may end up being part of the official name!

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Walking with God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to I need your help once more…The Name Game!

  1. Carolyn C. says:

    “Authentic journey,” “honest look” -sorry Bill, I could only come up with two couplets rather than five words! Take it from someone who has gone before you, non-profits are a chAllenging path, but as you already know, God is in this!

  2. chris nischan says:

    Connect, or connection. Path or pathway. God

  3. kevin h says:

    I like the name Landmark in it. Validation. Genuine.

  4. Greg Funk says:

    pilgrimage, events, unprejudiced, perceiving, harmony.

  5. Trey says:

    righteous, brotherhood, brothers, Godly, agape men, fulfilled men, transformed brotherhood, Jesus fraternity, Spirit filled brotherhood. Sounds like you are getting the go ahead regarding the 501c, Christ will prosper your efforts in this case!

    Trey

  6. Jennifer L says:

    I’ve consulted the Clanton family,
    and we all agreed on:
    Sincere
    Vulnerable
    Surprising
    Genuine/Honest
    Thoughtful/Deep

  7. Jessie Rucker says:

    Deep wells calls you to go deep!

  8. Hedge Burt says:

    Seeing myself through my Father’s eyes.

  9. Jeff says:

    Stories Matter
    Best Quest
    Idling Idols
    Restart Your Heart
    Identify Identity
    Bondage or Bonding?

    head_____heart
    a GAP e

  10. Amy (Black) Valet says:

    Intentional, thoughtful, purposeful, compassionate, loving

  11. Lem says:

    Our Father’s World, Eternity, Quest (The Eternal Quest)

Leave a Reply

