What are you celebrating in your life now?

We all have things that come to us unexpectedly or milestones that we finally reach. And we need to stop and celebrate. This week has been a huge week for the Delvaux family, and tonight we went to celebrate. Here are four reasons for our party:

  1. I finished all the edits of the Landmarks manuscript. The deadline is tomorrow, and I made it! Hours and hours spent at the computer for the last 6 weeks until my head was swimming. It was a marathon of 40,000 words to finish, but it felt so good as I punched the send button for the last time.
  2. I am officially starting a non-profit to go along with the book. It is something I have been thinking about for a long time, and something I feel God has been prodding me to do. But as with most adventures, I have pushed back in fear. But this week, the wonderful friends that I gathered to be the board for the non-profit vetoed my hesitation and told me I needed to start–now! As Heidi and I sat in the meeting, we were both awed and grateful for their support and love.
  3. We found out this week that Abigail, my oldest daughter, passed her tests to be certified as a high-school math teacher. All of that hard work is paying off!
  4. Finally, Rachel has been such a hard worker, earning summer income at odd jobs. She has also been my final editor on the manuscript, reading every single word and making tremendous suggestions!

So…you see why we need to celebrate. It’s been a banner week in our house.  So tonight, we were glad that our good friends, Tom and Jan Eberle, could join us in our celebrating, but sad that Abigail couldn’t  because of summer school. The venue was Loveless Cafe, and the celebration included biscuits, good country food, biscuits, good conversation, biscuits…well you get the idea! Included on the drive home was an amazing sky at dusk.

So what needs celebrating in your life? Or do you need to throw a party to celebrate someone else? Think about it and then do something about it. Remember, Jesus implied a celebration happens in heaven every time someone comes home to the Father!

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Book Writing, Landmarks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What are you celebrating in your life now?

  1. Gary Scudder says:

    Congratulations!! You can go on vacation and hopefully totally relax. Looking forward to seeing it in print.

Leave a Reply

