Hope never looked so beautiful

The Garden of Hope

A couple of years ago, Heidi and I knew that we were facing significant transitions. Our youngest daughter, Rachel, was heading off to school. I knew that I was nearing the end of full-time high school teaching. There were many unknowns as well as many opportunities ahead in the future.

And then there was that pesky piece of lawn next to the house that had never amounted to more than a breeding ground for weeds. So Heidi came up with the idea to plant a garden right where all the weeds were. And I came up with the name, The Garden of Hope.

We set to work, but had to start from ground zero. That meant killing those pesky weeds and then laying down mulch and fertilizer. I then bordered the area with small boxwood.  Heidi began to plant the flowers that would fill the area.

Verbena, one of Heidi’s favorite

As the flowers grew along with their beauty, the garden became a symbol for us, a symbol of hope for the new and beautiful things we wanted Jesus to do in our lives, individually and as a family. And the last two years have been that for us: watching doors open, feeling hearts awaken, sensing hope grow out of barrenness.

For wherever Jesus shows up, there is beauty and hope. He plants that garden in our own hearts, out of the soil of our shame and guilt and sadness. Amazing!

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

Honeybee hard at work in the garden

Black-eyed Susans

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Future, Walking with God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hope never looked so beautiful

  1. magpiestop says:

    i love this idea of the garden of hope, and it’s lovley by the way…enjoy ALL the fruit, all along the way!

  2. It’s God’s tilling and mulching of the soil of our lives that is often times tough. And manure is a great soil amendment!

Leave a Reply

