My strange reading list of books…and an update on my book

Summer is in full swing at the Delvaux household. Rachel is reading and enjoying the break from college. Heidi is reading and trying to stay cool. Abigail is reading and taking graduate classes at UT.  And what am I doing? I sit on my back porch for 4-5 hours each morning working on the final draft for my book Landmarks.  Here is a brief update on it:

  • The book is a kind of topo map for the soul.  It lines out the journey we must all make to walk with God and become like his Son.  Nine landmarks are described to chart the voyage.
  • It will be released on March 1, 2013.  That’s 260 days away.  The countdown starts.
  • It is being published by Broadman and Holman here in town, whose retail connection is Lifeway bookstores.
  • I will be starting to spread the word soon on Facebook and other social media.

But I do have some time to read, like my family.  And here is what I am reading.   It’s a strange list.  Can you see any rhyme or reason in it?  I can’t!

  • East of Eden, Steinbeck–A classic story of good and evil.  I’ve wanted to read it for a long time.  Brutal and haunting.
  • Iron John, Bly–The book that started the secular men’s movement of the ’90’s, based on the fairy tale, Iron John.  Fascinating, even if I can’t agree with everything there.
  • The Elegant Universe, Greene–This is the geeky side of me.  A look at string theory and how it is changing how we think about the universe (i.e. there are more than 3 dimensions!).
  • Outlaw Platoon, Parnell–A gripping account of one platoon in action during Afghanistan war.  Tightly written.
  • Writing with Power, Elbow–OK.  I have to be honest.  I haven’t started this.  But my English colleague, Maria Jarnigan, told me it was the best book on writing.  But now I’m too busy writing to read it!

By the way, Rachel is reading The Hobbit and Heidi is reading State of Wonder by Ann Patchett (for her reading group that’s been meeting for 21 years!) and Wired that Way by the Littauers. Abigail just finished Cry the Beloved Country by Alan Paton and will start Gaudy Night by Dorothy Sayers.  We are the reading family!

That’s enough about me for now.  I’d love to hear from any of you about any interesting books you are reading.  Reply back and let me know.

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Book Writing, Landmarks, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to My strange reading list of books…and an update on my book

  1. Bryce says:

    Coach, you have to read Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter.

  2. Judy says:

    I’m reading “The Path to Power: The Years of Lyndon B. Johnson” Vol I by Robert A. Caro. Fascinating reading. More than a biography. Also historical on many levels – early years of settling the state of Texas; the allure and poverty of the people of the hill country in Texas; politics at the turn of the last century and continuing through FDR; rural electrification; money and power politics of bankers, utility companies and Republicans (sounds much like what you read in the papers today); the people’s party; hard life of farming; the Great Depression. Here’s a sample quote: “As the robber barons of the last century looted the nation’s earth of its wealth – its coal and coke, its oil and ore, its iron, its forests, the very surface of its earth to provide a footing for the rails of this railroads- and used part of that wealth to ensure that the nation’s government would not force them to give more than a pittance of their loot back to the nation’s people, so the robber barons of this century have drained the earth of the Southwest of its riches and have used those riches to bend government to their ends.”

  3. Hannah Nester says:

    I’m trying to read more historical books that have to do with my major like Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee by Dee Brown and The Pequot War by Alfred Cave and for fun I’m reading the Ranger’s Apprentice and Eragon series.

  4. ben rucker says:

    East of Eden is certainly haunting. I think Cathy/Kate is the most chilling character ever written. That book has stuck with me for years. I’m rereading LOTR right now – I just started The Return of the King. Not sure what’s next!

  5. Trey says:

    I read Why We Get Fat and What to Do About It by Gary Traube. Lots of science, a bit repetitive, but the man is a fine science writer. I read Iron John back in the day and enjoyed it. The Men’s movement was a fun time and helped me along with some friends, but God is blessing what you do because you stick to His truth. That is ALWAYS the best strategy! Write on!

    Trey

  6. Trey says:

    I have also been reading Knowing God. One passage made me smile and I wanted to call up Filson but it was too late. It was an early section in which Packer noted that a man who loves God like John Bunyan could communicate as effectively as a learned theologian like Calvin. That strikes me as a classic Filsonism.

    Trey

  7. Loved East of Eden! I just finished The Nightwoods by Charles Frazier. He is a fantastic writer. He writes very sparingly, and yet you get the full gist of what he is describing. Set in the mountains of Tennessee. Also finished listening to the Paris Wife, a fictionalized account of Hemingway’s first marriage. Finally, I am reading vanishing Acts by Jodi Picoult.

    • Coach D says:

      Thanks for the update on all your reading, Judi. Interesting stuff. I just found two more I would like to read: Into Thin Air, Krakauer and Othodoxy, Chesterton. The latter is a re-read. I picked it up today and realized I needed to read it again!

  8. Carl says:

    You would like to read Wherever I Wind Up by R.A. Dickey. He tells his story in a way that you would appreciate. He is also very articulate (MBA grad and English major from UT). Here is a link to an interview he had with NPR where he told his story:
    http://www.npr.org/2012/04/10/150283169/winding-up-as-the-mets-knuckleball-pitcher
    He is on the sports pages today because he has pitched two complete game 1-hit shutouts in his last two starts for the NY Mets.

  9. Jim says:

    Coach. If you want to learn more about extra dimensions and string theory, read Warped Passages by Lisa Randall. It is well written, entertaining, and makes it very easy to understand and visualize the concepts of theoretical physics. I love it.

    • Coach D says:

      Thanks for the suggestion, Jim. I’m still finishing The Elegant Universe. It’s crazy stuff. I’m sure that Warped Passages would be crazy good too!

Leave a Reply

