Reflections (and pics) on the craziest thing I have ever done

Yes…I jumped out of a plane at 14,000 feet and lived to tell about it.  It got me thinking. A lot.  So here are a few reflections on my skydiving experience.

1. We need to do some crazy things in life. Our routines in life often become ruts. Our best attempts at making our lives work often end up deadening us to so much of what we were meant to feel.  Our ruts become our prisons.

2. God is the God of surprises.  So often when He meets man in the Bible, it is not a gentle entrance.  He comes and arouses, surprises, or even shocks.  God becomes the author of some crazy things in the Bible.  And he sends his followers on some crazy missions.

3.  I am a man who has often let the voice of fear have final veto power.  It has kept me from so much in my life.  And it is the men in my life that have continually pushed me out of the nest.  This adventure was no different. Without being kidnapped for the day by my two good buddies, I would have never considered doing it or even attempting it.

4.  The actual jump out of the plan was an experience that had no category in my mind. For several seconds, we flipped in the air and then accelerated to terminal velocity of 120 mph.  It felt like I was dying.  But then we hit free fall.  Here for almost one solid minute, there was no longer any sense of falling, just floating.  Pure beauty and pure wonder was everywhere I looked.

5.  As I was getting ready to jump out, I sensed Jesus whispering to me, “I’ll jump with you.”  It was what I needed to hear. It’s what we all need to here for whatever crazy thing God may ask us to do.

By the way…the landing was the easiest part.  It felt like coming down a kiddie slide. I was back on earth in one piece, even if I was a little nauseated.

Thank you to David and Steve for making this possible.  I cannot thank you both enough!

PS.  To watch a 5 minute video of my jump, go to the blog right before this one.

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Faith, Walking with God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections (and pics) on the craziest thing I have ever done

  1. Vince says:

    So the guy you jumped with was named Jesus? 😀

Leave a Reply

