Why I HATE to ask for help…but I am asking for it anyway

Help.  I’m fine giving it.  I’m terrible receiving it.

First there is the whole male thing.  It starts with refusing to ask for directions to a place and ends up with refusing to ask for directions in life.  Men want to show that they are strong and sufficient. Asking for help just makes us feel like weenies.

Then there is my whole life story thing.  Because of my situation growing up, I swallowed this lie early on as the gospel truth: “I’ve got to figure out life on my own.”  For so many years, it just never occurred to me to ask others for help, for mentoring.  I would figure out how to do something on my own and then perform it for the strokes I needed.  Living like this eventually sent me into the emotional sewer.  And I almost drowned there.

But I did slowly climb out by learning to ask for help.   I was so surprised by how gracious and willing others were to give it.  But still…but still…I have to swallow hard before I ask sometimes.  And this blog is a bit like this.

Because I NEED YOUR HELP.  Here’s the deal.

Landmarks: Turning Points in the Journey To God is my first published book and will be released March 1 of next year.  It’s amazing that I got a book deal at all because I have no platform, no ready-made audience of interested buyers, a pre-requisite for most authors.  In the publishing world, I am a virtual nobody.  So, I need to build a platform over the next 10 months to prepare for the release of Landmarks.  Here’s how you can help.

Whenever you read one of my blogs, and you really like it, take a minute and simply spread it to others.  The simplest way is to post it on your Facebook or Twitter with a brief introduction about the blog or about me.  When this has been done in the past, the effect is really noticeable.

Something in me balks even now.  I wonder if you think I’m trying to make more money, or trying to become famous, or just asking you to contribute to a marketing ploy.  But it’s honestly nothing about this.  I just know that the message of Landmarks is revolutionary and can draw so many into the beauty of knowing Jesus intimately.  It’s a message that needs to go far and wide.

So, can you help me?

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Book Writing, Landmarks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Why I HATE to ask for help…but I am asking for it anyway

  1. Carolyn C. says:

    Happy to help!

  2. Melissa Jean says:

    Bill, it is an honor to do this for you. I love reading your posts so will be glad to pass those on. Praying for you and your family.

  3. Trey says:

    With pleasure.

  4. Mark Nester says:

    Always.

  5. Jessie Rucker says:

    This Rucker would love to help!

Leave a Reply

