Anybody out there interested in starting a revolution?

I am a reluctant revolutionary.  Really.  My whole life  has been dominated by two great powers.  Fear.  And shame.  Not exactly the recipe for a rebel.  So the idea of starting a revolution sounds quixotic, romantic, with a little bit of tough guy thrown in.  But honestly, it’s unnerving to me.   So…what is the revolution stuff all about?

I have come to believe that when men start to be healed, the rest of the world can be healed.  And the biggest sadness here in so many men is the father/son bond.  All the generational legacies and patterns of fallen man get passed on.  The son picks them up unconsciously or rebels against them to create his own path of destruction.  I wish I were overstating the case.  But my own life story is a textbook example.  And I see it over and over in my work with fathers and sons.

The last three years have been trying to figure out how to start the healing, the revolution with men, both fathers and sons.  Along with that has grown a brooding anger at the evil I see perpetrated here, both on a human and a demonic level.  But something happened this weekend that I believe kickstarted the revolution.

I helped to lead, along with others at my church, an intergenerational event for men, ages 13-73 (and older).  The presentations, the food, and the conversation were all stellar.  But for me, that wasn’t the revolution.  It was two interviews I did.  In both of them, an eerie quiet settled in on the crowd.  There was no motion, almost no breathing.  It was as if time stopped, life stopped, hearts stopped.

In the first one, three friends of mine told of their own stories of sin and sadness and how God is changing them.  And they went further and began to speak of their fears and struggles of doing this interview.  The honesty was piercing, blunt.  In the second interview, a father and son did the same.  They told about the sadness in their relationship before they understood each other’s real story.  And then they spoke of the bonding and release that happened when they became honest with each other.

It was stunning, beautiful.  I have never seen anything quite like it.  Jesus was there.  Ask any man who attended.  This is the revolution I want to start.  Anybody interested in coming with me?

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Landmarks, Men and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anybody out there interested in starting a revolution?

  1. Trey says:

    While I appreciated what the panel said, I really appreciated seeing those guys get up in front of a large crowd and be so transparently genuine. You do not get to see that every day, it was cool and powerful. I had to work Saturday morning, so I missed that part, but I can catch the recording to not miss further blessing. Thank you for your time and effort, and thank the guys for me. That was a standup, real man thing they did!

    Trey

    • Coach D says:

      It was a standup, real man thing to do. Men don’t follow titles, but they will follow courage. I hope many, many more men join in the charge forward here. There is so much more that needs to be done.

Leave a Reply

