Quiet in the frenzy…calm in the chaos

Most days in the high school where I teach can best be described as organized chaos,  ordered frenzy.  It’s not that the school isn’t structured.  It’s probably better than many high schools.  But it’s just chaos, daily chaos, as are all high schools.  Constant decisions.  Constant situations.  Constant interactions.  Constant conversations.  Constant paperwork.  And after one day of that, guess what? You get to get back up and do it all over again.  It’s easy to burn out.

But there is one thing that has kept me going, one constant in the constant frenzy.  It is what I do every morning, before Heidi gets up, before our chickens get up.  I go to the kitchen, brew a mug of coffee, and then head back to my devotional book, my Bible, and my journal.  Here I find the eye in the storm, the quiet in the frenzy, the calm in the chaos.  Here I find my heart connecting to the Father, and here I find the Father’s personal coaching.

I never know what I’m going to hear when I open the Scriptures and begin praying.  But as I have learned to hear the Father’s voice, what he says to me is precious.  Here is a glimpse into my last few mornings:

I wrote out this question to the Lord: “What do I need today?”  The response came back: “You need me.”

I was thinking about Ps. 27:11: “Teach me your way, O LORD.”  This is what I heard from him: “Follow me.”

Sometimes he comes to me with a question.  This one came this morning:  “What do you want?”  And my response was a son that poured out his heart to his Father.

Sometimes I just get encouragement.  This came to me a few days ago.  “You’re a good son.  I love you.”

The Father doesn’t answer every question, nor does he guide me personally in every decision.  And sometimes, I’m not quite sure if I hear him correctly.  But I am learning to listen and know his voice.  It has a certain quality, a distinct tone to it.  To hear him is the quiet in the frenzy.   To be with him is the calm in the chaos.

And when I close my journal and my Bible, I am ready to face the madness.  And even enjoy it!

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Teaching, Walking with God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quiet in the frenzy…calm in the chaos

  1. Carolyn C. says:

    Thanks for this post Bill. 😉

    • Coach D says:

      Thank you, Carolyn. The time I spend in quiet before my Father has become more important to me as I face so many unknowns now. He knows me, and that is ultimately all that matters.

  2. Sara Wall says:

    This may be the best one yet!

    • Coach D says:

      Sara,
      I’m glad you felt this one was so special. It’s just what bubbled up out of my heart after walking through the chaos of the past several days.

Leave a Reply

