Why Easter is dangerous, really dangerous

Perhaps you attended a church service today.  Or maybe you had a special meal with family or friends.  Or maybe you just got some time off from school or work. Easter may be celebratory, fun, or just relaxing.  But dangerous?

If the Easter story is really true, really history, if a dead man really came out of the grave, it changes everything.  And we are included in that, if we wish.  And we need to start there, whether we need to struggle with the claims of the resurrection of Jesus or whether we need to submit with his claims on our lives.  That’s how we all enter.  But that’s not the real danger.  The real danger is what can happen after we do enter.

For if Jesus came back to life, that means that he is still alive today.  As Lewis loved to put it, “The Lion is on the loose.”  And that means he could ask us to do anything, anything at all.

The Bible is full of stories of men and women that God called out on crazy adventures, full of risks and dangers.  They were all asked to go on quests of one sort or another.  And if Jesus is still alive, he is still calling out men and women on the same ventures.  What might we be asked to do?  What task might we be given to accomplish?  I am afraid there are no safe zones here.  We might be asked to do anything.

And therein lies the danger of Easter.  You may think this is hyperbole.  A part of me wishes that you were right and I were wrong.  It would make life a lot more comfortable, safe, and manageable.  Unfortunately, that is exactly what Jesus is not…comfortable, safe, and manageable.  Only a cursory glance at the gospels in the New Testament will demonstrate that.

So…where does this leave us?  Once you believe, really believe in the resurrection of Jesus and the resurrection of your new self in him, then you must prepare for anything. But I have one piece of comfort…he will walk with you every step of the way, whatever adventure you are asked to go on.

How do I know?  That’s exactly what is happening in my own life.  I am leaving many knowns and taking a big step of faith into many unknowns.  Watch the clip from Indiana Jones for a taste of what it feels like for me.

And prepare for anything…

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Easter, Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Easter is dangerous, really dangerous

  1. Trey says:

    That is the key part for me, that Christ is a co-traveler. It keeps the challenges more an adventure and less an ordeal when I remember that. I have a guide who keeps me safe enough if not as safe as I would prefer. 8)

    Trey

  2. Great Post Bill! Really added meaning for me to that scene!

    • Coach D says:

      Thanks, Vince. I love using movie clips and now you have another demonstration of why. So be careful…you never know what the resurrected Jesus may do!

Leave a Reply

