It finally happened…the seemingly impossible…a book contract!

Almost four years ago it began.  An editor in my Sunday School class encouraged me to start writing.  With a prompting from the Lord earlier that same day, I decided to begin.  It seemed like a rather innocuous journey.  How taxing, how dangerous could it be…sitting in front of a computer and typing away?  With vague visions of success and fame, I began.

I sent my first book proposal out to all the publishing contacts I could drum up.  And the response was unanimous.  Rejection.  No interest whatsoever.  OK…I thought.  That was discouraging.

The next summer I tried again with another book idea.  I sent it out everywhere.  It was a repeat performance.  Unanimous rejection.  My discouragement turned darker.  But the pull to keep writing would not leave.  I had to keep at it.  And I did.

This time I scraped deeper into my soul, peered deeper into my story, pondered deeper into the strange work God had been doing in me.  And something new was birthed.  It became a travelogue of my soul, a kind of de-allegorized Pilgrim’s Progress.  I began to teach about it in my Sunday School class again.  It became organized around the idea of landmarks.  A landmark is something you know you need to move towards, even if you are not quite sure how you are going to get there.  So I constructed nine of these landmarks in my own journey: Story, Idols, Scars, Sex, Identity, Battle, Bond, Mate, and Quest.

The response in the class was remarkable.  I had hit a nerve.  These landmarks weren’t just my journey.  They were universal.  They were everyone’s journey.

So I sent out the landmarks proposal to publishers everywhere.  And the response again: unanimous rejection.   Except one tiny ray of hope.  An interested party that eventually rejected it.  But I couldn’t stop now.  I felt I was onto something.  I found a book agent who was immensely helpful.  We redid the landmarks proposal and sent it out again. This time we got a catch!   Broadman and Holman wanted to sign me as a new author. Today I signed the final contract!!

Release date? March 1, 2013.  Title?  Landmarks: Turning Points in Your Journey Towards God

The adventure now continues.  More editing, art work, videos.  I will update you on the blog as I get more news.   Thanks to all of you who have encouraged me.  And thank you to the special woman in my life, Heidi.   Without her I would have never even gotten to the first landmark in my own life.

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Landmarks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It finally happened…the seemingly impossible…a book contract!

  1. Wow. That’s just amazing. Congratulations. YAY YAY I know how hard it is. You can give me tips when I’m ready! LOL.

  2. Jennifer (Clanton) Lantz says:

    Congratulations, Mr D!

  3. jstnbracken says:

    Beautiful. So proud of you.

  4. Robin says:

    So encouraged for you and Heidi. Yes–Landmarks (we’ve had a few of those!)

    Dave and Robin

  5. I want to read it right NOW. Love the theme, I would have read whatever you published but this theme definitely resonates. Keep us posted and get a picture on your twitter!

  6. Trey says:

    Wonderful news! Praise God! Congratulations! Woohoo!!!!!!!!!!

    Trey

  7. Will Rucker says:

    Coach, I love the title so much. It’s vague and revealing at the same time.

    I wish it wasn’t coming out a year from now, because I wanna read it right now.

    • Coach D says:

      Will,
      Sorry for the wait! It’s pretty standard in the publishing world. But I have an invitation you don’t have to wait on. Call me when you can in the next 24 hours and I’ll tell you.

Leave a Reply

