What the church may honestly need more than anything…honesty

I saw it again on Sunday…stunning…beautiful.  Beyond words.  Here is what happened.

I had asked a good friend of mine to share part of his story in my Sunday School class.   He is a leader in the church, so everyone in the class knows him, but few know his real story.  I told him that we would structure the interview as a a conversation in front of the class so that it wouldn’t feel like it was all on his shoulders.  We focused the interview around those deep core beliefs that formed his identity in life.

He talked with both candor and passion about his early years, the sadness he endured, where it took him as a man, and how God is changing his sense of identity in Christ.  At one point, the tears began to flow down his face.  The feedback from the class was just as beautiful.  The connection everyone felt, the sense of respect, the empathy.  The whole thing was stunning…beautiful.  But it was more.  It was holy.

I have come to believe that if we just obeyed this one verse in Scripture, it would turn our churches into seedbeds of life and renewal.  And it would draw in the interested, the curious, the skeptical perhaps more than anything else.  What is the verse?  James 5:16: “Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed.”

It is not better programs that will give us better churches. Nor is it necessarily better preaching, or better vision statements, or more money.  It is honesty.  When we simply tell the truth and quit hiding, something happens that can only be described as holy.  God loves to come and nuzzle up to the one who is honest before others.  There is a radiance, an aura, a wonder…and a power.

It is the one thing the church may need more than anything.  But it is also the one thing we can be afraid of more than anything.  And there is the rub.  There is the cost.  But it’s so worth it.  And when a few take the leap and do it, others will be drawn in and follow.

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Church and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What the church may honestly need more than anything…honesty

  1. Trey says:

    Amen. So many of God’s greatest joys for me are just past my fears.

    Trey

    • Coach D says:

      I love the way you said that..the great joy is right past the fear. So true with our secrets we hide from others. Thanks for being my digital brother!

  2. Jessie Rucker says:

    I minister to so many women who have husbands living a lie and afraid of their past. I know if these men would just open up and not be afraid, they would be healed. I had a great counselor tell me once that someone is as sick as their secrets. Satan loves to keep things hidden in the dark!

    • Coach D says:

      Jessie,
      I love that phrase: “you are as sick as your secrets.” That is so true! And so many men are sick. I see it everywhere also. It’s one of the things I want to press into as I move out of full-time high school teaching. It was great to hear from you.

  3. Shaun Buchhalter says:

    “It is not better programs that will give us better churches. Nor is it necessarily better preaching, or better vision statements, or more money. It is honesty.”
    This is such a simple yet profound statement…

Leave a Reply

