Why I love going into the unknown…and hate it too.

So, I am leaving my job as a high school teacher and coach after 20 years.  I am coming down into the last quarter of school.  Honestly, I feel kind of like the seniors do.  I feel spring fever.  It’s harder for me to stay motivated.  I keep thinking about all the new things I am going to move into.  What are some of these new things?

  • I will be starting a non-profit organization based  around my work with men of all ages.  I have no ideas what to name it yet.  But the work on it has begun.
  • I will be having more time to do small groups for men and retreats for all ages of men.
  • I will have time to counsel and talk to men individually.
  • I will hopefully be able to use my love of backpacking as a part of this.
  • Finally, I will be staying at the school to teach one class to young men.

But what is the vision?  What is the passion behind all of this?  What kind of quest is this?  It is to lead men into a connection to the Father through Jesus that transforms them into real men.  It is what has happened to me in the last 5-10 years in a way that has radically reshaped me.  I want to lead others, young and old, into this.  It really does feel like the adventure set before me, the one thing that I must do, the one thing Jesus is calling me out into.

But therein lies the dilemma.  There is no script for what is ahead.  It is all unknown. Dangers await at many turns.  There will be unseen obstacles ahead. I become afraid. And questions then erupt: “Am I up to this?  What if it fails? What if others turn on me?”  And then I remember.  This is why I hate the unknown.  It is anything but safe.  But still Jesus calls.

If you want to know what I have felt like at times, watch this clip from Fellowship of the Ring.  Many of you will recognize it.  I feel like Frodo, the one who must take the ring.

The Council of Elrond

The adventure begins in three months.  I hope I am ready!

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Landmarks. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Why I love going into the unknown…and hate it too.

  1. Joe Quatrone, Jr. says:

    This will be quite an adventure for you, brother!

    • Coach D says:

      Yes…and it is starting soon. Of course, you are never ready for the true adventures. I am just going and leaning on the Father to guide me and protect me.

      • Joe Quatrone, Jr. says:

        You are committing and unknown future to a known God. Sounds like a good plan to me!

      • Coach D says:

        Thank you, Joe. I am amazed at how things fall into place when I just step out in faith. I just had an experience today where I saw doors open when it looked so unknown before. Hebrews 11 and 12 have been important to me in stepping out like this. There is no better place to be than close to the Father, even if everything else is unknown.

  2. Terry Eaves says:

    Sounds exciting,Bill. I am glad to know of this new direction. Your calling and its outworking are going into my prayer journal. I am eager to see what new adventures the Lord has for you. Blessings, my friend as you hear His voice and follow close behind.

    • Coach D says:

      Terry,
      SO GOOD to hear from you. Since you mentioned it, I am going to put you on my prayer list. I send out an email once oa month, and I would love to put you on it. Stay in touch, friend.

  3. Chandler says:

    Coach I love your honesty of admitting your fear of the unknown and your undeniable compulsion to walk through despite your fear. If I ever move back to Nashville I hope I can have the privelge of serving in your ministry even if its just picking up chairs or cleaning up after the group. Your impact has been great and will continue to be powerful because you always point to God and his majesty.

    • Coach D says:

      Chandler,
      It is so good to hear from you. So many wheels are turning in my life. It is amazing to feel the pull of the Father leading me up and beyond myself. Perhaps you will move back to Nashville. Even if you don’t, I hope you can stay in touch with what I am doing. Subscribing to my blog will help here. I will keep events and news posted on it as I move into the new ministry. Let’s stay in touch!

  4. Trey says:

    I am so happy my daughter has had the opportunity of knowing and talking with you. God bless and keep you in these exciting days. And no, you are not ready, and that is totally OK. It is not you, but He that is in you. And He is ready! He was born ready!

    Yours in our Savior,
    Trey

    • Coach D says:

      So true, Trey. He is always ready and prepared. There is a part of me that is learning to trust like a son, to just leave everything to the Father’s care. It is a radical lean on the presence of God. Kind of like rappelling–scary and exhilarating!

Leave a Reply

