Why I teach high school (and why I will no longer teach)

So why would anyone subject themselves to 50-60 hour work weeks, mounds of paper work, constant pressure to perform like an actor, and endless daily decisions?  This it the reality of teaching high school.  On top of that, it is relentless.  I am coaching a new teacher in the Bible Department this year at the high school.  Her biggest adjustment is that it never stops.  My best visual for it is the famous Lucy and the Chocolate Factory

scene.  She can’t keep up with the chocolates on the assembly line no matter how fast she goes.  They just keep coming. High school is like that.  So why would anyone in their right mind do it?  Or even in their wrong mind??

Only one reason.  You just love students.

I have had a twenty year love affair with high school students.  I have found them to be an endless source of humor, a constant stream of conversation, and an unquenchable hungering for truth.  The two pictures at the top were drawn by my most intellectual of classes, a study of worldviews that takes them into basic philosophy.  So every day they come into class, a new picture goes up on the board.  Who knows what it will be or the connection to the class?  Look at the bottom of this blog for two more pictures that they assured me had deep symbolism!!

Over the years I have high-fived and knuckle-pounded students thousands of times, counseled them hours upon end, listened to their doubts and fears in class, and simply enjoyed their company.  Even if I don’t miss the endless paper work, I will miss all of this, or at least partially miss it.  You see the reason why I teach high school is also the reason I will no longer teach it.  How can that be?

This year is my last full-time year.  Next year I will be very part-time at the school.  The vast bulk of my time will be given to starting a ministry that will include men of all ages. I will still have the chance to love students. It will just be in a new way.  In the next blog, I’ll tell you more about it.

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Teaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why I teach high school (and why I will no longer teach)

  1. Hi Bill. Thanks for your service to our kids. You put those ours in because you love them.

    • Coach D says:

      Thanks for this, Vince. It’s been a service of love. On most days, it is more joy than work. I have been a fortunate man to have such a job!

  2. Bill- your unique flair for H.S. teaching becomes so obvious as you intermix
    movie clips,humor,life stories,and profound TRUTH.Not head truth but
    life-changing heart truth.

    Would it be surprising these attributes would make you an extra-
    ordinary teacher of men ( young and old)?

    I don’t think so my friend! Rick A

    • Coach D says:

      Rick,
      Thank you for your confidence in me. I need to hear this as I launch out into so many unknowns. It helps me to know that I am not crazy. I’ll keep you posted on the future!

  3. ben rucker says:

    I’m sure I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again: Thank you so much for my teacher, coach, and mentor during my high school years. Those years were hard in a lot of ways for me (as they are for most, I’m sure), and I am so grateful to have had you there as a role model. I’m looking forward to what God has in store for you next!

    • Coach D says:

      Ben,
      Thank you so much for this. I am also looking forward to whatever is in store for me. I’ll explain a little more in the next blog to come out tomorrow morning. And it was a privilege to coach, teach, and mentor you. It really was. My only sadness is that I don’t get to see you regularly anymore. Facebook me sometime. I have an invitation for you.

Leave a Reply

