The Great Divide

OK…here is another book idea.  I saw the Grand Canyon once when I was in college. There is no way that photos even begin to capture what it is like to see a hole in the ground 20 miles wide and 1 mile deep.  Awe.  Astonishment.  The way across from one side to another seems impassible.  It is the great divide.

But what is more astonishing is that there is chasm even bigger than that one.  It doesn’t exist on the Colorado River.  It doesn’t exist anywhere on the planet.  It exists right here inside of us.  I call it the Great Divide.  And as I teach about it, I get a lot of response.  It hits a nerve.  What is the Great Divide?  Here is what I mean:

  • You hear a great sermon on marriage and want to move towards your spouse in a new way.  But by the evening you find yourself stuck in old, destructive patterns of behaving.
  • You believe that God loves you.  You’ve heard it many times.  But you can’t shake the nagging sense of feeling condemned and inferior to everyone else.
  • You are making some crucial decisions about your future.  You know that God has good plans for you.  Then why are you riddled with anxiety so that it makes you sick and keeps you up at night?

These are just a few examples of a terrible chasm in all of us, the chasm between our head and our heart, between what we say we believe and what we really believe, between the concepts we assent to and the feelings we give in to.  This is the Great Divide.  And it is in all of us.  And so much of our path forward once we believe in Jesus is the healing of this Divide.

In the book I would explore many of the ways the Great Divide affects us.  Then I would walk through the root causes of the Divide and finally point out some ways to close it. Ultimately, heaven is the place where this divide will no longer plague us, where there will be integrity in our lives, radiating both love and righteousness.  I can’t wait!

So, let me know again.  What do you think of this idea for a book?  And thanks to all of you who commented on the last idea, both positive and negative.  I look forward to hearing from many of you!

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Heart and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Great Divide

  1. Jennifer (Clanton) Lantz says:

    This one does not personally interest me as much. The term “Great Divide” feels overdone and maybe a little trite. I’m sure the book would not be that way, but on the initial outset, I’m not drawn to it. When I read the idea, I thought “The Great Divide” had already been done, so I looked it up. There’s only one book (so far), but there’s lots of music if you wanted more inspiration!

    • Coach D says:

      Jennifer,
      Thanks again for the helpful info. You’ve done some research for me already! Your initial reaction is food for thought as I try to think about this and figure out a way to package it.

  2. Trey says:

    It reminds me of an old saying, the greatest distance is at times the foot between our head and our heart. I like the idea, teaching folks to recognize that sinful inertia that holds us back from doing good would be a great help to the body of believers.

    Trey

    • Coach D says:

      Thanks, Trey, again for your feedback. There does seem to be a long distance between the head and the heart. Our conceptual knowledge is definitely a start, but there is so much more that needs to happen. I would love to be a part of helping people bridge the chasm.

  3. Johnny Orr says:

    Great idea, Bill. Johnny

  4. Hi Bill,

    I think that ths is a great topic. It is something I feel every day, but it is a downer subject. Maybe “Conquering (or Traversing) The Great Divide” would be more uplifting.

    • Coach D says:

      You are right. It will need another title as a hook. Not sure I would do a book on this topic, but it is and idea. Maybe it will be incorporated as part of another book. Who knows? I’m just trying to finish this first one!!

Leave a Reply

