A new idea? Give me feedback.

As I continue to work through the Landmarks book idea, I have had other ideas for books pop into my head.  It occurred to me this week that perhaps all of you, as my blog readers, could weigh in on some of them.   So I’ll post a different idea on each blog for the next couple of weeks.  If it interests you, let me know.

Here’s the first idea:

A rainbow is made up of seven distinct colors, yet blended together they make a blinding white.  This is a visual image of a book idea focusing on the desires that surge up in our hearts.  I have seven of them that come to mind when I think about the longings that I feel in myself and hear from others.  Here are the seven:

  1. longing for connection, intimacy, love
  2. longing for significance, meaning, fame
  3. longing for beauty, awe, wonder
  4. longing for adventure, newness, risk
  5. longing for justice, rightness
  6. longing for knowledge, understanding
  7. longing for identity, who I really am

These longings are not ones we manufacture.  We simply find them present in our hearts. And what we do with these longings pretty much maps out our lives.  For we all do something with these longings.  Even when we try to dismiss them, the effort it takes radically affects us.

And the sadness of so much of life is how these longings are misplaced, misunderstood, misused, and misjudged.  We are so easily deceived about them.  Yet I believe that all seven of them taken together form a brilliant white light, an unmistakeable beacon that points us to something, someone beyond ourselves.  And if we follow the beacon, it will take us to the One who placed those desires in all of us.

For the desires function not only as a rope back to God but also as a way that God keeps calling out to us.  Whatever we place that desire on, it will betray us until we see what it is truly pointing towards.  But once we see how God as the source and fulfillment of all desire, these seven desires now find their proper and ordered place.  We become sane, whole, balanced, alive.

So…what do you think?  I’ll try another book idea for Monday!

 

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Heart and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A new idea? Give me feedback.

  1. Carolyn C. says:

    Spot on as usual! 😉

  2. That is a beautiful metaphor. Seeing as the rainbow is a sign of God’s covenant with us and that God wears the rainbow as His crown, it is fitting that it would also represent God’s promises for a fulfilled life. Thumbs Up! Can’t wait to hear the rest of your ideas.

    • Coach D says:

      Thanks, Vince. It is a beautiful metaphor also perhaps because a rainbow is just beautiful! Thanks for the encouragement. the idea came to me about two months ago, but not sure what to do with it yet. More book ideas to come in the next few blogs!

  3. Mark says:

    Love the idea, Bill. I think there’s definitely enough ‘meat’ here for a book, and certainly one that is needed in our culture. You have a unique way of distilling down the true essence of our existence and our being. Thanks for pointing us back to the Truth.

    • Coach D says:

      Mark,
      Thanks for the vote of confidence for this one! I really do want everything to point back to the Father through Jesus. The idea came to me a couple of months ago. Not sure if it would work. So hearing from you is helpful to me. More book ideas to come in the next few blogs!

  4. John says:

    Bill, I realize this comment is not really related to the article at all, but I would say that if you haven’t checked out artofmanliness.com you definitely should. The content is right up your alley!

  5. pauline taaffe says:

    first I want to say I love the photo .Did you take that??? The 7 points are amazing. You are a thoughtful writer and you connect that in such a unique way. Great book idea.. Blessings.

    • Coach D says:

      Pauline,
      I did not take that photo. Wish I had. But it was taken in Missouri I think after a thunderstorm late in the afternoon. Amazing isn’t it? Thanks for the thumbs-up on the book idea. I’ll send out another one Monday AM for everyone to comment on!

  6. Jennifer (Clanton) Lantz says:

    I would like to read it now! It sounds so applicable, and I know, coming from you, would be so direct and yet compassionate. I’d say “go for it!”

Leave a Reply

