Learning to say the most precious word in the universe

What I am going to say is so simple. A small child understands this. But for me with all of my supposed sophistication, it took me many years to get here.

It happened suddenly on the back porch early this morning where I spend time alone with God. I was asking him about how to pray. Frustrated with prayer lists, I gave them up a long time ago. They felt deadening, mechanical. At times, I even gave up praying for others because I sensed it was out of obligation, not out of passion. I was stuck, needing some personal coaching, a revelation. And then it happened this morning.

Daddy. It just arose someplace from a dark cellar in my heart. A place I have honestly never, ever prayed from my entire life. The word came with such tender emotion, a feeling of being 6 or 7 years old coming to my Father. It is a sense I have never really experienced, even though I have taught on it many years. I feel almost embarrassed to admit this, but it’s just the truth. It’s like a blind man knowing about color all his life and then one day having his eyes restored. I just saw. I just felt.

Daddy. I began to say it again. I began to feel the connection, the life as a son. I just sat in it, drank from it, bathed in it. I asked as a son for things in my life and then for the needs of those I love. It felt so different from the mechanical lists. I then tried to return to that same feeling throughout the rest the day.

Daddy. It may be the most precious word in the universe, the one word that can change the way we feel about everything. It is the one word that Jesus gave his life so that we could know. It is the one word that the Holy Spirit wants to teach us to say from our deepest depths. “Because you are sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, ‘Abba (Daddy), Father.'” (Gal. 4:6)

Daddy. I hope you are learning to say it also.

About Coach D

I have been a teacher and a coach for many years. My real name is Bill Delvaux, but my students call me Coach D, hence the user name. This blog is about the journey into the unknown I am walking and the landmarks I am navigating along the way. The destination: becoming who I really am as a man. I invite you to join me by reading along every Monday and Thursday.
This entry was posted in Father, Walking with God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Learning to say the most precious word in the universe

  1. Julianna says:

    Thanks!

  2. kenstewart says:

    Coach D,

    If you haven’t already heard it, you should somehow manage to listen to Jack Frost’s testimony of how the Lord transformed him after YEARS in the ministry in a mere 45 minutes as he lay curled up in the fetal position experiencing “Daddy” in a way he never had. It utterly changed him, and for 2 years the Lord had him abandon his Bible reading (reading systematically thru it in a year) and simply read John 14-17. If you can at all get hold of that story, it would be a great listen. Jack is gone now, from lung cancer in his mid-50’s, but his legacy of the Father’s heart is stellar. (If you have taught on this before, you are probably well aware of his teachings.)
    Blessings, and thanks for sharing.

    Ken

    • Coach D says:

      Ken,
      Thank you so much for the information. I don’t think I have heard of Jack Frost, but it sounds a bit parallel to my experience. I will look it up and see if I can find it. By the way, I have enjoyed reading your blog and hope to continue to. So many men need to hear what you are saying about the heart.

Leave a Reply

